Recently, eight-year old Bito has been frustrated by life, and seems to think being an adult will solve all his problems.

He announces regularly that he can’t wait to grow up.  That when he is an adult, he’ll be able to [fill in the blank] and never have to do X,Y and Z…

“Oh baby,” I say to him.  “Don’t be in such a rush to grow up.  It’s not all it seems to be.  And adults have problems, too.”

He’ll get to adulthood eventually, but I don’t want him to wish his childhood away.  I want him to enjoy this time, and not be so anxious for it to end.  I want to tell him that this is the only time in his life where he can be a  (mostly) carefree kid, and have all many of his needs met.  That it’s not just about growing up, but also growing deep roots of knowledge.

But I don’t.  Because I think this is one of those lessons you learn after you’ve been through it.  When you’re an adult, and look back on your formative years and realize how great it really was.

As his mom, I hope that some day, when Bito is all grown, he will look back fondly on his early life and know how good he had it.  Because I am trying hard to give him a wonderful childhood.

