Tags

unexpected navigationTen years ago today, The Husband and I were three days away from tying the knot.  I remember not-so-fondly those final hours before The Big Day.  The busy-ness of confirming vendors, going over the schedule, putting out small fires, etc, stressed me out!  Every detail about how the day would go was checked and double checked .  As excited as I was about The Big Day, I was nervous about how everything would go.  I admit I just wanted it to be over so that I didn’t have to worry about it any longer!

What I was really looking forward to was our honeymoon!  I couldn’t wait to be sitting on a hot beach sipping a cold drink.  When we were planning our honeymoon, I had dreamily mentioned that I wanted to go to French Polynesia…but we weren’t willing to travel the long distance for our honeymoon.  We settled instead on an all-inclusive resort in Mexico, which was perfect for us.  The Husband said that perhaps we would be able to to go to Tahiti/Moorea/Bora Bora for our tenth anniversary.

Well.  We are celebrating ten years later this week, and needless to say, we are not going anywhere near the South Pacific!  With three kids, a mortgage, and the cost of living life, it simply isn’t in our budget to jet off to Tahiti right now!  I’m okay with that, though.  My dream vacation will still be there when we are at a point in our lives where we can go and enjoy it.  At least I hope it will be.

~~~~~~~~~~

This post inspired by the book The Unexpected Circumnavigation: Unusual Boat, Unusual People by Christi Grab. This book was given to me for my online book club.  More posts inspired by the book can be found at From Left to Write.

