Tags

Sometimes when I don’t like the way things are going in my little world, I imagine running away with my family to The Middle of Nowhere.  In The Middle of Nowhere, the loves of my life and I would live without outside influences. Nothing or nobody would corrupt my beautiful children as The Husband and I raise them to be great adults.  Just the five of us, living together in harmony 24-7.

Well.  We do not live in The Middle of Nowhere, and The Husband and I are not the only people who touch our children’s lives.  It’s just not reality.  Despite wanting to protect them from the big bad world out there, we navigate the shark-filled waters of our lives every day single day.  I am grateful for the days where nobody gets bitten!

I am also appreciative of the other people in my kids’ lives who are helping shape them as well.  For better or worse–and as a mother, I work hard to ensure it’s for the better!–there are people who are a part of my kids’ lives.  Grandparents, aunts and uncles, cousins, friends, teachers, pastors, babysitters…all these people have a hand in developing my kids into well-rounded people.  There are conflicts and snags that are bound to occur; still, there is something to be learned from every interaction, positive and negative.

As much as The Middle of Nowhere appeals to me on a bad days where I disagree with my kid’s teacher, or the DC area rush hour makes me want to pull my hair out, I wouldn’t like it as much as I think I would.  I know I’d become real tired real fast of being with my dear family 24-7.  Despite loving them more than the breath of life, I have no desire to be with them all the time.  No, thank you.  Actually, now that I think about it, there’s not a single person in this entire world that I want to be with 24-7!

Yeah, I think I have neat children and I enjoy watching them develop into people that I know I’m going to like some day when they are adults.  I know I have a hand in how they are developing into cool people…but mine is not the only hand.  For this I am grateful.

~~~~~~~~~~

This post inspired by the book Room by Emma Donoghue.  I received a free copy of this book from the publisher.

To read other posts inspired by this book, check out my book club’s website, From Left to Write.

